Telephone Number: (334) 242-9000
Telephone Number: (334) 242-9000
IS ALABAMA A TITLE ISSUING STATE — Yes
Title law became effective the first day of October 1973. Every motor vehicle not more than 35 model years old which is domiciled in Alabama and is required to be registered in Alabama is required to have an Alabama Certificate of Title. Travel trailers and folding and collapsible camping trailers not more than 20 model years old also are required to have an Alabama Certificate of Title. Manufactured homes not more than 20 model years old are also required to be titled. The term motor vehicle shall include every automobile, motorcycle, mobile trailer, semitrailer, truck, truck tractor, trailer and other device that is self-propelled or drawn, in. upon, or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a public highway except such as is moved by animal power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks. Every trailer coach and travel trailer manufactured upon a chassis or undercarriage as an integral part thereof drawn by a self-propelled vehicle. EXCLUSIONS — No Alabama Certificate of Title shall be obtained for: (a) A motor vehicle more than 35 model years old or trailer more than 20 model years old; (b) A vehicle owned by the United States or any agency thereof; (c) A vehicle owned by a manufacturer or dealer and held for sale, even though incidentally moved on the highway or used for the purpose of testing or demonstration, or a vehicle used by a manufacturer solely for testing; (d) A vehicle owned by a non-resident of Alabama and not required by law to be registered in Alabama; (e) A vehicle moved solely by animal power; (f) An implement of husbandry; (g) Special mobile equipment; (h) A pole trailer; (i) ATVs; (j) Snowmobiles; (k) Off road vehicles; (I) Junked vehicles; (m) Boats; (n) Mobile homes, travel trailers, and mobile trailers older than twenty (20) years from the current calendar year; (o) Utility trailers. A utility trailer is a vehicle without motive power designed to be drawn by a passenger car or pickup truck; (p) A folding or collapsible camping trailer more than 20 model years old; (q) A vehicle for which the Alabama license plate issuing official has verified that the current owner or operator is recorded as the owner or operator on a currently effective Certificate of Title issued by another state and the Certificate of Title is being held by the recorded lienholder. For updates and further information contact the state at (334) 242-9000. (Also See Section V.)
TRAVEL TRAILERS — Travel Trailers, Semi-Trailers, or Folding or Collapsible Camping Trailers – Not more than 20 model years old, as determined by the Department, must be titled. Each unit of a manufactured home not more than 20 model years old will be issued a Certificate of Title by the Revenue Department. The Title is a regular vehicle Title, 1 for a single wide and 2 for a double wide. The title fee is $15.00 per Title for travel trailers and $20.00 for each unit of a manufactured home.
TITLE HELD BY —Lienholder
TITLE ONLY ISSUED — Yes – The original Certificate of Title is mailed to the first lienholder named on it or, if none, to the owner. An owner permit copy of the Title Application is issued to the owner to serve as a permit for the operation of the motor vehicle.
TITLE APPLICATION — Title applications are submitted to designated agents, they then submit to the Revenue Department in Montgomery. Applications will be accepted by mail, yet cannot be handwritten.
TITLE FEES — $15.00
a. There shall be paid to the Department, for issuing and processing documents required, a fee of $15.00 for each of the following:
(1 ) Each application for a Certificate of Title:
2. Each application for a replacement or corrected Certificate of Title;
3. Each application for a Certificate of Title after transfer;
4. Each notice of a security interest;
5. Each assignment by lienholder;
6. Each application for an ordinary Certificate of Title upon surrender of a distinctive Certificate;
7. Each application for information as to the status of the Title of a vehicle;
8. Each application for a Salvage Title.
a. There shall be paid to the Department, for issuing and processing documents required, a fee of $20.00 for each of the following for manufactured homes (1) first time title, (2) transfer of ownership, (3) cancellation of Certificate of Title.
b. The designated agents shall add the sum of $1.50 to each document processed for which a fee is charged, to be retained as his commission for services rendered and all other fees collected shall be remitted to the Department.
c. If more than one (1) transaction is involved in any application on a single vehicle and if it is supported by all required documents.the fee charged by the Department and by the designated agent for processing and issuing shall be considered as only one (1) transaction for which the designated agent shall receive and retain $1.50, and shall collect and remit to the Department $15.00. No charge for a new title after the release of a lien.
DUPLICATE TITLE FEE — $15.00
FAST TITLE SERVICE — No – Normal processing time is five to seven business days from date of receipt of the application and supporting documentation.
TITLE CORRECTIONS — Procedures may vary please contact the state.
ABANDONED VEHICLE TITLE PROCEDURES (MECHANICS, GARAGE OWNERS, ETC.) — For information please contact the state or visit https://unclaimed.mvtrip.alabama.gov
SALES OR USE TAX APPLICABLE TO TITLING — None. NOTE: Updates may be implemented, for details please contact the state. (Also See Section V.)
REGISTRATION/LICENSE FEES — based on weight
IS ALABAMA A TITLE ISSUING STATE — No
BOATS — Not titled. Boats & personal watercraft/jet skis are registered only. Alabama does not require titling or registration of boat trailers. NOTE: Updates may be implemented, for details please contact the state.
MOTORCYCLES / MOPEDS — Must be titled.
NEW VEHICLE — Requires a certified MSO showing proper assignments to the applicant.
VEHICLES PURCHASED OUT-OF-STATE AND BROUGHT INTO ALABAMA TO TRADE OR SELL — Alabama titles only vehicles not more than thirty-five (35) model years old. The applicant surrenders the outstanding Certificate of Title, properly assigned by the titled owner (or MCO) and properly assigned/reassigned by licensed dealer, or the outstanding Certificate of Title in applicant’s name if relocating to Alabama. Bills of Sale used to register vehicles more than thirty-five (35) model years old.
USED VEHICLE – TITLE ISSUING JURISDICTION — (Not more than thirty-five (35) model years old) – Requires properly assigned Certificate of Title.
USED VEHICLE – NON-TITLE ISSUING JURISDICTION — Vehicle must be titled by the first Alabama purchaser (including licensed motor vehicle dealers). Must surrender last officially validated Registration, notarized Bill of Sale, and a lien satisfaction statement (if available). Alabama Certificate of Title shall contain the legend “THIS VEHICLE MAY BE SUBJECT TO AN UNDISCLOSED LIEN.”
VEHICLE REGISTERED IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY — (Not more than thirty-five (35) model years old) – Title, if one is issued, or the same requirements as if from a NON-TITLE ISSUING JURISDICTION.
VEHICLE REGISTERED BY U.S. MILITARY AUTHORITY — U.S. Military Registration and outstanding Certificate of Title or MSO, if any.
VEHICLE SOLD BY U.S. GOVERNMENT — U.S. Government Standard Form 97.
REPOSSESSED VEHICLE — (Not more than thirty-five (35) model years old) – (1) VEHICLE THAT HAS BEEN TITLED IN ANOTHER STATE, FIRST TITLE IN ALABAMA— Designated agent completes the Application for Title (MVT 5-1E). The application must be properly completed, signed by the owner and the designated agent. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS: (A) Surrender of the out-of-state Title. (B) Completed Repossessed Motor Vehicle Affidavit (MVT 15-1) or out-of-state equivalent form properly completed made by or on behalf of the lienholder that the vehicle was repossessed and that the interest of the owner was lawfully terminated or sold pursuant to the terms of the security agreement. (C) The lienholder shall complete the assignment of title by owner to purchaser on all Titles. (Form MVT 15-1 is not a SECURELY printed document.) The fee is $15.00 (2) VEHICLE THAT HAS BEEN TITLED IN ALABAMA WITH LIENHOLDER PROPERLY SHOWN ON TITLE — Designated agent completes the Application for Title (MVT 5-1E). The application must be properly completed, signed by the designated agent and owner. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS: (A) Surrender of outstanding Title. (B) Completed Repossessed Motor Vehicle Affidavit (MVT 15-1 ) made by or on behalf of the lienholder that the vehicle was repossessed and that the interest of the owner was lawfully terminated or sold pursuant to the terms of the security agreement. (C) The lienholder shall complete the Assignment of Title by the owner to purchaser on all Titles. (Form MVT 15-1 is not a securely printed document.) The fee is $15.00.
VEHICLE SOLD BY TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY — Copy of the trustee’s appointment by the court and the outstanding Certificate of Title assigned by the trustee to the purchaser or a notarized Bill of Sale issued by the trustee.
DISTINCTIVE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE — If the Department is not satisfied that there are no undisclosed security interests in a previously registered vehicle, the Department may issue a Distinctive Certificate of Title to the vehicle containing the legend, “This vehicle may be subject to an undisclosed lien” and containing any other information the Department prescribes.
INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE OF OWNERSHIP — Effective May 2, 2012 bond amounts were standardized. For information please contact the Surety Bonds Unit.
SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS SURRENDERED — Yes. If from out-of-state, the out-of-state Title is surrendered when entering Alabama. The previous state is notified that you are titling in Alabama.
VIN INSPECTION — Yes – Each application for first Title shall contain or be accompanied by the Certificate of a designated agent that the vehicle has been physically inspected by him and that the VIN and descriptive data shown on the application are correct and that he identified the person signing the application and witnessed the signature.
Lien information must be disclosed on the Application for Title. It is the responsibility of the designated agent (dealership) to list all liens. The applicant (owner) is responsible for reviewing the completed application in order to certify the accuracy of the information. A dealer may submit an application to record a lien on behalf of a lienholder. The application must be accompanied by the outstanding Certificate of Title and the correct title fee. Security interests are recorded with the Department of Revenue, 2545 Taylor Road, Montgomery, AL 36117.
LIEN SHOWN ON CERTIFICATE OF TITLE — Yes.
LIEN SHOWN ON DUPLICATE TITLE — Yes.
LIEN SHOWN ON REGISTRATION CARD — No.
ELECTRONIC LIEN AND TITLE (ELT) PROGRAM —Alabama has implemented ELT Phase 1. It is designed to be used by financial institutions (i.e. banks, credit unions, pawnshops, etc.) that record and release liens on vehicles currently in Alabama. An electronic title is issued in lieu of a paper title. ELT Phase 2 is under development and will exchange information between the Department and the financial institutions or their service providers.
TITLE MAILED TO LIENHOLDER — Yes.
a. A security interest is perfected by the delivery to the Department of the existing Certificate of Title, if any, an application for a Certificate of Title containing the name and address of the lienholder and the date of his security agreement along with the required fee of $15.00. It is perfected as of the time of its creation if the delivery is completed within 30 days thereafter, otherwise, as of the time of the delivery.
b. If a vehicle is subject to a security interest when brought into this state, the validity of the security interest is determined by the law of the jurisdiction where the vehicle was when the security interest attached, subject to the following; (1) If the parties understood at the time the security interest attached that the vehicle would be kept in this state and it was brought into this state within thirty (30) days thereafter for purposes other than transportation through this state, the validity of the security interest in this state is determined by the law of this state. (2) If the security interest was perfected under the law of the jurisdiction where the vehicle was when the security interest attached, the following rules apply: (i) If the name of the lienholder is shown on an existing Certificate of Title issued by that jurisdiction, his security interest continues perfected in this state, (Note: An Alabama Certificate of Title will not be issued upon verification that the current owner or operator is recorded as the owner or operator on a currently effective Certificate of Title issued by another state and the Certificate of Title is being held by a recorded lienholder), (ii) If the name of the lienholder is not shown on an existing Certificate of Title issued by that jurisdiction, the security interest continues perfected in this state for four months after a first Certificate of Title of the vehicle is issued in this state and also, thereafter, if within the four-month period it is perfected in this state. The security interest may also be perfected in this state after the expiration of the four-month period; in that case perfection dates from the time of perfection in this state. (3) If the security interest was not perfected under the law of the jurisdiction where the vehicle was when the security interest attached, it may be perfected in this state; in that case perfection dates from the time of perfection in this state. (4) A security interest may be perfected under paragraph (2)(ii), or paragraph (3) of this subsection, either as provided in subsection (a) or by the lienholder mailing or delivering to a designated agent or to the Department a notice of security interest in the form the Department prescribes together with documents to support the security interest as required by the Department and the required fee.
LIEN INSTRUMENT — Lienholder submits an Application for Certificate of Title showing the name and address of the secured party, date of security agreement and existing Certificate of Title, if any, and lien will be displayed on the front of the Certificate of Title.
FEES FOR FILING LIENS — The fee is $15.00 if already titled and no change in ownership. There is none if recording lien at the time of the application for transfer. Liens for non-titled vehicles are recorded through the county probate judge.
LIEN RELEASED — Any lien or security interest shall be considered satisfied and release of lien shall not be required after four years from the date of the security agreement as recorded on the Certificate of Title for vehicles which are 12 or more model years old, or it shall be considered satisfied and release shall not be required after 12 years from the date of the security agreement as recorded on the Certificate of Title except for Certificates of Title for travel trailers or vehicles that weigh more than 12,000 pounds gross weight, (a) Upon the satisfaction of a security interest in a vehicle for which the Certificate of Title is in the possession of the lienholder, he shall, within ten (10) days after demand, execute a release of his security interest in the space provided for on the Certificate and mail or deliver the Certificate and release to the next lienholder named therein, or, if none, to the owner or any person who delivers to the lienholder an authorization from the owner to receive the Certificate. The owner, other than a dealer holding the vehicle for resale, shall promptly cause the Certificate and release to be mailed or delivered to the Department, which shall release the lienholder’s rights on the Certificate or issue a new Certificate, (b) Upon the satisfaction of a security interest in a vehicle for which the Certificate of Title is in the possession of a prior lienholder, the lienholder whose security interest is satisfied shall within ten (10) days after demand, execute a release in the form the Department prescribes and deliver the release to the owner or any person who delivers to the lienholder an authorization from the owner to receive it. The lienholder in possession of the Certificate of Title shall either deliver the Certificate to the owner, or the person authorized by him, for delivery to the Department, or, upon receipt of the release, mail or deliver it with the Certificate to the Department which shall release the subordinate lienholder’s rights on the Certificate or issue a new Certificate, (c) Upon receipt of the releases of security interests mentioned in subsection (a) and (b) of this section, the Department shall file each release in the manner prescribed by the Department and note the same upon records of notices of security interests maintained by it.
SECOND MORTGAGE — Recorded on the Certificate of Title in the same manner as the first security interest.
SECOND PARTY ADDED TO TITLE WITH OR WITHOUT A LIENHOLDER — Forms to be filled out are a Title Application, and properly assigned Title. The fee is $15.00.
LIMITED POWER OF ATTORNEY — Lienholder may use. Must have an original and it must be notarized. Power of Attorney form MVT 5-13 must be used.
LENDING INSTITUTIONS (INCLUDING PRIVATE PARTIES) — Not required to have an assigned lender number to record liens.
SECOND LIENHOLDER BUYING CONTRACT FROM FIRST LIENHOLDER — Second lienholder submits to the Department a MVT5-1E or MVT 20-1 Title Application in the owner’s name, listing themselves as the first lienholder, outstanding Title with lien released by the first lienholder, and title fee of $15.00.
The Alabama title law requires the recorded owner to assign the Certificate of Title to his transferee and deliver the Certificate with vehicle. If the Title is in the hands of a lienholder at the time of transfer, a transferee should obtain a power of attorney from the owner who authorizes the transferee to receive the Certificate from the lienholder and to assign the Certificate and sign the owner’s name by Secure Power of Attorney.
PLURAL OWNERSHIP — Requires the signature of all joint owners. Notarization not required for any signatures, even if joined by “OR” or “AND/OR” (which requires only one signature). The transfer fee is S15.00.
TRANSFER FROM DECEASED OWNER — In cases of JOINT TENANCY with right of survivorship; transfer is accomplished by furnishing a copy of the deceased’s death certificate and assignment by the survivor of the Certificate of Title. TENANCY IN COMMON requires the endorsement of the survivor and legatees or heirs of the deceased. For INDIVIDUALS, assignment of Certificate by administrator, executor, legatee, surviving spouse, and/or next of kin, whichever may be applicable under the facts and Alabama law.
ODOMETER DISCLOSURE STATEMENT — Alabama requires the odometer reading be disclosed and a certification made upon transfer of the vehicle.
DAMAGE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT — Any person who transfers interest in any manner to a vehicle whose Certificate of Title identifies it as “Salvage” or “Rebuilt” must provide a written disclosure of such to the transferee.
REASSIGNMENT — Refer to the Re-Assignment Supplement to Certificate of Title form. (See Section VII.)
All motor vehicles and trailers driven or moved upon the highways are required to be registered, except certain farm and boat trailers, and vehicles primarily designed and used off the highway. Snowmobiles are not registered. (If an ATV were to be registered it would have to meet all federal and state safety, emission, and anti-theft standards. Once a title had been processed, the county license plate issuing official would issue a registration tag and tax receipt and license plate. If the ATV did not meet the standards it would not be considered to be “street legal” and therefore, could not be driven on the public roads or highways of the state.) (Also See Section I.)
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION — Applications for registration are submitted to Alabama licensing plate issuing official’s offices. Registration renewals may be submitted by mail or online if service is provided by county.
OUT-OF-STATE VEHICLE – VEHICLE OWNER MOVING TO ALABAMA — If the vehicle is registered with a current and valid license plate, the owner has 30 days to obtain an Alabama license plate without incurring a penalty. The out-of-state Title is surrendered when registering in Alabama unless the title is held by the lienholder. The previous state is notified that you are titling in Alabama. OWNER IS ALABAMA RESIDENT – Must be registered within 20-days of the purchase or of entering the state unless otherwise exempted by law (i.e. temporary tag). If someone from another state purchases a vehicle in Alabama they may be issued an Alabama 20-day temporary tag from either the dealership where the vehicle is purchased or in the local county tag office. NOTE: For information on vehicles titled, registered and plated in the home state of a corporate headquarters and driven by a permanent resident of this state please contact the Motor Vehicle Division.
PLANNED NON-OPERATION — Registration fees are attached to any vehicle operated on the public streets or highways of this state either partially or for an entire registration period; thus, if not operated for an entire period no registration fee liability results. Ad valorem taxes on vehicles is basically an ownership tax, and accrues without vehicle use.
REGISTRATION ONLY ISSUED —An Alabama Title is not issued when: 1) the registrant is listed as the owner/operator on the out of state Title; 2) there is a lien recorded on the out-of-state Certificate of Title; 3) the Title is being physically held by the lienholder and the Title was not issued by a state that sends the valid original Title to the owner and not to the lienholder. If these requirements are met, only a registration is issued.
SALES OR USE TAX APPLICABLE TO REGISTRATION —Ad valorem tax is based on local millage rates and assessed values. All private passenger automobiles and pickup trucks are assessed at 15% of the market value. All other vehicles are assessed at 20% of the market value. All motor vehicles owned by utilities used in the business of such utilities are assessed at 30%. Taxes are paid in the county where the owner resides. Tax must be paid prior to registration. Motor vehicles brought into the state during any tax year shall be subject to taxation the same. Transfer cannot be accomplished without proof of tax being paid. The sales and use tax on new or used vehicles is 2%. (The applicable local sales or use tax should be computed and paid in addition to the state tax). CREDIT is allowed for TRADE-IN. CREDIT is allowed for taxes paid to another state. MILITARY PERSONNEL are NOT EXEMPT. Sales tax is paid to the Alabama dealer. If acquired out-of-state or from a non-dealer, sales or use tax is paid to the tax collector, license commissioner, or revenue commissioner of the county of residency of owner. Alabama has reciprocity with all U.S. jurisdictions, none with the Canadian provinces. NOTE: The state general sales tax rate is 4% (including vehicle parts). When a customer trades in a vehicle, and the transaction results in an even trade, and no money changes hands, sales tax is not due. Registrant will be required to prove to the satisfaction of the county license plate issuing official that the transaction was an even trade. BOATS are subject to the state 2% sales or use tax. (The applicable local sales or use tax should be computed and paid in addition to the state tax.) NOTE: Updates may be implemented. For further information contact the ADOR, Sales and Use Tax Division, at (334) 242-1490. (Also See Section I.)
MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION TAG & TAX RECEIPT — Registration Tag and Tax Receipt required to be carried in the vehicle.
FEES FOR REGISTRATION —
MOTORCYCLES — $15.00;
UTILITY and TRAVEL TRAILERS — $12.00;
BOATS — All mechanically propelled vessels and sailboats on the waters of Alabama must be registered and numbered. Documented pleasure boats are required to be registered. The TRANSFER FEE on all is $5.00.
PRIVATE PARTY TRANSFERS the documents required are the Bill of Sale and old Registration Certificate.
CLASS I (less than 16 feet) — $20.00;
CLASS II (16 feet but less than 26 feet) — $25.00;
CLASS III (26 feet but less than 40 feet) — $75.00;
CLASS IV (40 feet and over) — $100.00. $2.00 of class I thru IV fees is an issuance fee.
The duplicate boat registration fee is $5.00.
NOTE: Updates may be implemented, please contact the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) Marine Patrol Division at (800) 272-7930 or (334) 517-2930.
REGISTRATION TAG AND TAX RECEIPT — Alabama law requires original or photocopy of receipt to be in vehicle.
FEE FOR DUPLICATE REGISTRATION — The fee is $5.00 if requested from the state. Current registrations may be requested from county licensing officials offices.
FEES FOR FILING LATE REGISTRATION — A delinquent registration is subject to interest charges and penalty charges. The penalty charge for delinquents registering a vehicle not previously registered in this state is $15.00. The penalty for delinquent re-validation or re-registration is also $15.00.
FEES REDUCED — Fees will not be prorated for any reregistered vehicle unless specifically exempted by law.
LICENSE PLATES ISSUED — One plate is issued on all vehicles.
MULTI-YEAR LICENSE PLATES ISSUED — Yes. Most license plates are issued for a five year period. A validating decal is issued for subsequent years. Also issuing perm trailer plates.
VINTAGE VEHICLE LICENSE PLATES — For details refer to the Application for Vintage Vehicle License Plates (MVR 40-12-290). (See Section VII.)
FEE FOR REPLACEMENT OF LOST OR STOLEN LICENSE PLATES — The fee is $2.00
TEMPORARY PERMIT — (Pending Registration) – The purchaser of any motor vehicle requiring a tag shall have 20 days to purchase said tag from the date acquired. A 20-day temporary permit is available for $2.25. The county licensing official upon proof of ownership and “just cause” may issue temporary registration. IRP permit $20.00 for 7 days.
LICENSE PLATES TRANSFERABLE — Yes – All license plates, except vintage vehicle and permanent trailer plates, follow the owner. The fee for delinquent plate transfer is $15.00.
LICENSE PLATE RENEWAL DATE — STAGGERED – Based on the first letter of the last name; commercials, October/November; vehicles registered under the IRP are staggered January through November.
LICENSE PLATE EXPIRATION DATE — STAGGERED – Expires last day of renewal month.
EXPIRED LICENSE PLATE ENFORCEMENT DATE — The first day of month following the month of renewal; commercial vehicles, December 1, except IRP vehicles, first day of the month following the designated month of renewal.
MAXIMUM LEGAL LIMITATIONS:
LENGTH — Single vehicle – 40 ft.; truck tractor/trailer combinations – 53′ 1/2″ trailer on non-designated highways and 57′ trailer on designated system. WEIGHT — 20,000 lbs. per single axle; 34,000 lbs. per tandem; interstate highways, 40,000 lbs. per tandem, state highways, 80,000 lbs. overall providing five axles; distance between axles 51’ and over.
WIDTH — 8 feet, except 8-1/2 feet on interstate highways and designated highways.
Variations may be applicable to particular routes or vehicles. For additional information please contact the state at (334) 834-1092.
VIN ISSUED BY DEPARTMENT — Alabama issues a VIN to reconstructed vehicles, or where the manufacturer’s VIN has been lost, damaged or obliterated. (1975 and subsequent year models only.)
ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF NOTARY PUBLIC — Notary’s signature, seal, date commission expires. Not required on the Certificate of Title.
RECORDS MAINTAINED — 10 years including current year. REGISTRATION FILES – Registered owner’s name, VIN or tag number retained 10 years. LICENSE FILES-Alphabetical.
INFORMATION FEE — The fee is $5.00 for registration and $15.00 for title history, $5.00 for printout of title record.
NON-RESIDENT STUDENTS — May operate vehicle licensed from their state of legal residence.
NEW RESIDENT — Must register his or her vehicle within thirty (30) days after entering the state provided the vehicle is currently registered with another jurisdiction. If not, then the vehicle is subject to registration immediately upon entering the state.
FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY —Alabama has a financial responsibility law. Minimum financial responsibility limits: 25/50 / 25. Compulsory insurance is required on commercial vehicles. Liability insurance is mandatory and proof of insurance is required to be in the vehicle. Registrants of motor vehicles may be required to present valid proof of insurance at the time of registration. License plate issuing officials and law enforcement officers will attempt to verify insurance using online insurance verification.
SAFETY INSPECTION —Alabama does not have a safety inspection law. However, cities have the authority to maintain inspection stations and provide local inspection law.
SMOG DEVICE — Not required.
EMISSIONS INSPECTION — No.
TOWING — Registration is required. Drive-away and drawbar connections – Only two units are allowed in saddlemount operation. Tow-bar operation must have one tag on the front of the towing vehicle and one tag on the rear of the towed vehicle. The drawbar may not exceed 15 feet in length. (Tow dollies are required to be registered.)
REQUIREMENTS OF MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS — All new and used car dealers must be registered by the state and county of business location.
There is a fee of $26.00 for a 1-year dealer or dealer transit tag.
The dealer must turn in paperwork to the DMV within 10 calendar days after the Application for Title is received by dealer or designated agent.
On DEALER TO DEALER TRANSFERS, the assignment on the Title must be completed and assignments on Re-Assignment Supplements. There is no maximum number of transfers allowed between dealers per car. NOTE: The Motor Vehicle Division is unable to provide a sample dealer license to the National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) for display. For dealer confirmation call: (334) 353-0477.
Dealers are required to have a separate license for leasing. Salespeople are not required to be licensed.
MILITARY INFORMATION — Driver license has 7 digits without spacing, not coded. Military personnel on active duty outside of Alabama may apply for renewal of driver license by mail with proof of military status. For updated information please contact the Department of Public Safety at (334) 242-4400. Safety sticker or certificate is not required. Insurance – Proof of insurance is required to be in the vehicle or in possession of the driver.
FOREIGN CITIZENS — (Title and Registration) – A foreign citizen who purchases a vehicle in Alabama, with the intentions of taking it back to a foreign country, must follow the same title and registration laws as an Alabama resident. The Title must reflect an Alabama address; however, this may be a temporary address. If the foreign citizen purchases the vehicle in Alabama but is temporarily residing in another state, they should title/register it in that jurisdiction. May be financed in Alabama or foreign country (between dealer and individual).