Stop Tasks

Adding a “✋ Stop” to a task in a template will turn it into a stop task.

All tasks after the first stop task, and the checklist itself, are disabled and can not be completed until the preceding stop task(s) are complete. This simple action turns basic checklists into powerful workflows.

Put another way: stop tasks stop a checklist at that point. No tasks past that point can be completed until the stop task is completed.

Plan: Stop tasks are a feature on our Standard plan. 

Users: In order to add or change Stop Tasks, you must be an administrator or a member who has been given ‘can edit’ access by your administrator.

Stop Task Examples

Here are a few things you can do with stop tasks:

  • Create checklists with “enforced order”
  • Create hand-offs between different team members
  • Disabled tasks until relevant
  • Break up checklists into stages
  • Assign parallel tasks to different team members

For more ideas on how to use stop tasks, check out our post on 6 Ways to Use Stop Tasks to Improve Your Team’s Workflow

Creating Stop Tasks

First, select the template you wish to edit, then select the task/s you would like to add a Stop to. You can add Stop Tasks to single tasks, or more than one at once.

In the example below, we have multi-selected all the tasks and added a Stop Task to every one, which enforces the order the checklist is completed in.

Pro Tip: To select many tasks in one go, hold down the ‘Shift’ key (Windows & MacOS) and use your mouse to click the two tasks and everything in between will become highlighted. You can then click the ‘Add Stop’ button and save your template.

In the example below we’ve individually selected multiple tasks at once.

Pro tip: You can use the ‘CTRL’ Key (CMD in MacOS) to individually select multiple tasks at a time. Hold down the ‘CTRL’ key (CMD in MacOS) and use your mouse to click all the tasks you want to add a ‘Stop’ to. You can then click the ‘Add Stop’ button and save your template.

Running Checklists with Stop Tasks

Stop tasks are indicated with a ✋-style icon just underneath the task number.

Once you run a checklist with a stop task, the tasks after the stop task will be disabled and hidden by default. A disabled task cannot be completed until the previous stop task is checked off.

You can click on ‘Show More’ to expand the view to any tasks after the ‘Stop Task’.

Once the preceding stop task is complete, the task is enabled and can be completed.

Inbox, Notifications and Stop Tasks

Disabled tasks (those following a Stop Task) do not trigger email notifications to anyone assigned to them, and do not appear in Inbox until they’re enabled (when the preceding task has been completed).

This is great for reducing clutter in members’ inboxes, and noise from email notifications on tasks that may not be ready to complete.

Required Fields and Stop Tasks

If your checklist contains tasks with required fields before the stop task, the stop task will be disabled until all required fields have been completed.

This is great for ensuring certain information is submitted before a checklist can continue.

If you try to complete the task with the Stop Task on it, before all the required fields in the preceding task have been completed, you will see warning messages. The task with the incomplete required fields is highlighted in red, as is the form field you need to complete.


 

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles