Task Permissions

Task Permissions allow you to hide specific tasks from view for selected users, which effectively makes parts of your workflow runs private.

For example, you can share certain tasks in your process with external users that you’d like them to complete while keeping the rest of your tasks just for your internal team.

You can control the permissions on tasks for:

Plan: Task Permissions are a feature on our Standard Plan

Users: In order to add or change task permissions, you must be an Administrator or a Member who has been given ‘edit’ access by your Administrator.

Common use cases for task permissions

When sharing your workflow runs with others you may not want them to see all the tasks within your process, only the ones you’d like them to complete, for example:

How to use task permissions

When creating or editing workflows, you can select individual or multiple tasks on which you can set permissions.

Let’s start with an individual task.

Decide which task you’d like to share

First click on the task you’d like to check permissions for, then click “Permissions” in the center of your screen. You’ll see a box appear which contains the permission options for this task, as shown below.

If this is the task you’d like to have someone outside your organization see (i.e. a guest or anyone with a workflow share link) then check all the buttons are in the “on” position (shown in green).

Think of permissions as giving users visibility to see that task. When any of the toggle switches are in the “off” position (shown in gray) those users cannot see that task.

Note: If you see “Custom” instead of “Permissions”, then there are already some task permissions set on this task. Click “custom” to open up the task permissions to see what has been set. 

Decide which tasks you’d like to hide

Now you need to turn off the task permissions for all the other tasks (or headings) in your workflow. This is important, otherwise the person you share your workflow with will be able to see all your tasks.

Multi-select consecutive tasks – Hold down the ‘Shift’ key (Windows & MacOS) and use your mouse to click on a task at the beginning and end of your task list, and all those tasks will become highlighted.

Multi-select separate individual tasks – Use the ‘CTRL’ Key (CMD in MacOS) to individually select multiple tasks at a time. Hold down the ‘CTRL’ key (CMD in MacOS) and use your mouse to click all the tasks you want to select (or un-select).

Now you can set permissions in bulk, via the permissions button in the center of your screen, as shown above.

Save changes to your workflow and make sure to test your settings by running your workflow, turning on the share link, and viewing it in a private browser tab or in incognito mode. This allows you to test what the person with your share link will see.

Setting general user task permissions

You can customize task permissions with any combination that you need on any or all of your tasks.

In the example below, the permissions are turned off for anyone with the share link. This means that the task is visible to your members and guests but hidden to anyone viewing the workflow run via a share link.

Below, we have the permissions switched on for members only. This means this task is visible to all members (and admins) but hidden from our guests, and from anyone viewing the workflow run via a share link.

You can create any set of permissions that you’d like which allows you to give visibility of different tasks, to different users.

User-specific permissions

You can choose to give individual members permissions on tasks, instead of the users from the default groups above.

Start by turning off all the toggle switches for all members, all guests and the share link as shown above.

Click “Add new permission” and then select the individual user/s either from the dropdown or by typing their name or email address in the search box. Click their entry to add them.

Role-based permissions

You can also set permissions based on a role in your organization or in your workflow.

For example, you can give permission to the person who runs the workflow, or to any email form field you add into your workflow such as “Employee email address” as shown below.

You could also use a role within your company by adding a Members form field into your workflow. This allows you to choose members from your whole team or from selected groups.

Admins see everything

It is important to keep in mind that Admins in your organization will always have access to view all tasks inside of a workflow run, regardless of what permissions you have set. It is not possible to restrict their permissions.

Learn more about the different types of user permissions.


 

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles