How to Edit Workflows

Workflows are the basis of all of your workflow runs in Process Street, so it’s natural that at some point you’re going to want to edit them.

Perhaps the time has come to update a workflow or you’re looking to change a pre-made workflow template you’ve imported; either way, it’s time to edit.

Users: In order to edit workflows, you must be an Administrator or a Member who has been given ‘edit’ access by your Administrator.

Editing a workflow

Start from your library and search for your workflow there, or inside a folder. If you have a lot of workflows, use the search box at the top right of your screen to find the one you’d like to edit, faster.

Click the three dots next to your workflow’s name to open the right-hand menu, as shown below. Select “Edit” to open the editor.

You can also click your workflow’s name to open it in view mode, after which you can select “Edit” from the right-hand menu.

If you have chosen a premade workflow template from the workflow template gallery, as soon as you select the workflow it opens up in view mode, ready to edit or to run the workflow.

Add more features & functions

You can add all sorts of useful components to your workflows. Follow the links below to find out how to add them:

And how to add these powerful features, to make your workflows truly dynamic:

Any changes you make to your workflow when editing will auto-save as a draft while you work.

Once you have finished editing, click the “Save changes” button in the top right corner of your screen to push your changes live.

If you have active workflow runs, you can choose to push updates to all of them at once when you save. Click “Sure do!” (or choose to update them one at a time).

Unsaved workflow changes

If you navigate away from your workflow without saving all your changes, your changes will not push through to workflow view mode, or any active workflows runs.

When you return to your workflow, you will see a pop-up message at the top of your screen, and an orange/yellow warning icon next to the “Edit” button, as shown below.

Edit your workflow and then save (or discard) your changes.

Note: If you select “Discard” this removes any of the fields, tasks, or headings you added or changed since you last saved your workflow.

To learn more about editing and building out your workflows, take a look through our Getting Started Guide below.


 

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles